Specialization Tax Law

The lawyers of Bloom focus on tax litigation (including tax fraud) and advisory work. They cover a wide array of tax matters, such as income tax, VAT, registration duties, inheritance duties, local taxes, etc.  

 
Tax litigation

Our lawyers have a specific expertise in tax litigation and go to the edge in order to defend and safeguard their clients’ interests. Our lawyers assist taxpayers in their relations with the tax authorities (tax audits, conciliation, regularization…).
 
They plead before all Courts, including the Constitutional Court (“Cour constitutionnelle”, “Grondwettelijk Hof”) and the Council of State (“Conseil d’Etat”/”Raad van State”). They have developed a specific expertise in the field of tax fraud. By way of example, Michel Maus has recently been appointed as expert in the Belgian Parliament with respect to the big tax fraud matters.
 
They have also gained an extensive experience in the area of tax rulings, both in Belgium and Luxembourg. Michel Maus and Denis-Emmanuel Philippe have recently been heard as experts in the Finance Commission of the Belgian Parliament on LuxLeaks (disclosure of secret Luxembourg tax rulings). The lawyers of Bloom have obtained many positive tax rulings for their clients, amongst others for foreign investors seeking to set up operations in Belgium or Luxembourg.
 

Advisory work

We advise our clients in a wide array of tax matters. We focus amongst others on the following subjects: international tax planning, corporate reorganizations, real estate transactions, holding and financing structures,  withholding tax issues, tax treaty application, corporate and structured finance projects, employee benefits, estate planning, etc.
 
 

Social Law

Dismissal

One of our partners has drafted his PhD on the right of dismissal. Hence, our law firm has a deep knowledge of every aspects of dismissal. Our lawyers assist employers and employees who wish to terminate the employment contract (individual or collective dismissal). They negotiate and plead on this subject before the courts. Our lawyers have pleaded a significant amount of principal cases in this field. 
 

Social penal law

We have gained a specific knowledge and a large experience in the field of social penal law. We assist our clients in the framework of penal and administrative procedures, and in the course of audits of the social inspection services.
 

Work duration

The lawyers of Bloom come up with practical solutions, based on a deep knowledge of the applicable rules, in the areas of work organization, work duration, yearly vacation, time-credit, part-time work, work incapacity, flexible work programs. We work closely with our clients, with a view to optimizing existing work programs or introducing a new one, based on the client’s needs with respect to work organization. The most flexible work arrangements in Belgium have been drawn up by our lawyers.


Social security contributions

The lawyers of bloom have academic background and a large pratical experience with respect to all the aspects of the social security contributions regimes (self-employed, employees, public sector). They have a specific expertise in the following areas: scope of the regime, the obligation to pay the contributions and the joint liability systems in respect of social security contributions. 

 
Civil servant law

One of the partners of the firm has obtained a PhD in the area of civil servant law and enjoys an excellent reputation worldwide in this field. We draft the staff regulations, assist our clients in collective negotiations in the public sector and plead before the Council of State for individual cases and actions for annulment of reglementary measures.

 
Collective employment law

Our lawyers are regularly requested to draft collective employment agreements, work regulations and staff regulations. They also provide assistance in their implementation and negotiation. Our lawyers have also developed a solid experience in preliminary proceedings and collective conflicts.


Salary and pensions

Together with Bloom’s tax department, we advise on a wide array of remuneration techniques (fixed salary, variable remuneration techniques, bonusses, stock options) and in the field of supplementary pensions.  Our lawyers have also gained a significant litigation experience in this area.


Health and security at work

The regulation on health and security at work is very large and technical. Our lawyers have specialized in this specific area. They advise on this reglementation and defend the interests of their clients before the courts, for instance in case of a severe work accident, which frequently concerns a penal procedure in which the employer and the CEO are subject to criminal proceedings. One of our partners teaches this topic of health and security at work at university.

Spécialisation droit fiscal

Les avocats de Bloom se consacrent à la procédure fiscale (en ce compris les dossiers de fraude fiscale) et le conseil. Ils couvrent toutes les matières fiscales, en particulier l’impôt sur le revenus, la TVA, les droits d’enregistrement, les droits de succession, les taxes locales, etc.

 
Procédure fiscale

Nos avocats disposent d’une expertise spécifique dans le domaine de la procédure fiscale et mettent tout en oeuvre pour défendre et sauvegarder les intérêts de leurs clients.
 
Ils assistent les contribuables dans leurs relations avec les autorités fiscales (contrôle fiscal, réclamation, conciliation, régularisations fiscales,…).
 
Ils plaident devant toutes les juridictions, en ce compris la Cour constitutionnelle et le Conseil d’Etat. Ils ont acquis une expertise pointue dans le domaine de la fraude fiscale. Ainsi, Michel Maus a été récemment entendu comme expert par la Commission d’enquête parlementaire à propos des grands dossiers de fraude fiscale.
 
Ils ont également acquis une vaste expérience dans le domaine des demandes de décisions anticipées, tant auprès de l’Administration fiscale belge que luxembourgeoise. Michel Maus et Denis-Emmanuel Philippe ont été entendus par la Commission des Finances à propos de l’affaire Luxleaks (les accords fiscaux secrets octroyés par l’Administration fiscale luxembourgeoise). Les avocats de Bloom ont déjà obtenu de nombreux rulings favorables, notamment pour des investisseurs étrangers souhaitant s’implanter en Belgique ou au Luxembourg.
 

Conseil

Bloom fournit également des conseils en toutes matières fiscales, notamment la planification fiscale internationale, les réorganisations de sociétés, les transactions immobilières, les structures holding et de financement, les problématiques de retenues à la source, l’application des conventions préventives de double imposition, les projets de financement d’entreprises, la structuration de l’acquisition d’entreprises, les avantages sociaux pour employés et l’estate planning.
 
 

Spécialisation Droit social

Licenciement

L’ un de nos associés a rédigé sa thèse de doctorat sur le droit de licenciement. Le cabinet dispose ainsi d’une connaissance approfondie de tout ce qui touche au licenciement. Nos avocats assistent les employeurs et employés qui souhaitent mettre un terme au contrat de travail  (licenciement individuel et collectif); ils négocient et plaident à ce sujet devant les cours et tribunaux. Nos avocats ont plaidé un certain nombre d’affaires de principe importantes dans le domaine. 
 

Droit pénal social

Nous disposons d’une expertise particulière et d’une vaste expérience en droit pénal social. Nous assistons nos clients dans le cadre de procédures pénales et administratives, ainsi que lors de contrôles des services d’inspection sociale. 


Durée du travail

Les avocats de Bloom ont des solutions pratiques, reposant sur une connaissance approfondie de la réglementation applicable, en matière d’organisation du travail, notamment la durée du travail, les congés annuels, le crédit-temps, le travail à temps partiel, l’incapacité de travail, les règlements de travail flexibles. Nous collaborons très étroitement avec les clients, de manière à pouvoir optimiser le régime existant ou à en introduire un nouveau, en partant des besoins de l’entreprise sur le plan de l’organisation du travail. Les règlements de travail les plus flexibles en Belgique ont été établis par nos avocats. 


Cotisations de sécurité sociale

Les avocats de Bloom disposent du background académique et d’une large expérience pratique concernant tous les aspects du droit à la sécurité sociale (régimes de cotisation à la sécurité sociale indépendants, salariés et secteur public). Ils disposent d’une expertise pointue concernant le champ d’application de la réglementation, la redevabilité des cotisations et les responsabilités solidaires.


Droit de la fonction publique

L’un des associés du cabinet est titulaire du titre de docteur en droit dans le domaine du droit de la fonction publique et jouit d’une excellente réputation sur la scène internationale en la matière. Nous rédigeons les statuts du personnel et assistons nos clients lors des négociations collectives dans le secteur public. Nous plaidons devant le Conseil d’Etat en cas de litiges individuels et de recours en annulation contre des mesures réglementaires.


Droit du travail collectif

Nos avocats sont régulièrement sollicités pour établir des conventions collectives de travail, des règlements de travail et des statuts du personnel ; ils fournissent également une assistance dans leur mise en œuvre et leur négociation. Nos avocats ont également développé une solide expérience en matière de procédures de référé et de conflits collectifs.


Salaire et pensions complémentaires

De concert avec le département fiscal de Bloom, nous fournissons des avis concernant les différents modes de rémunérations (salaire fixe, modes de rémunérations variables, bonus, stock options), ainsi que dans le domaine des pensions complémentaires. Nos avocats ont également développé une expérience du contentieux dans ces matières.
 

Sécurité au travail et santé

La réglementation en matière de bien-être au travail est très large et technique. Nos avocats se sont spécialisés, au fil des années, dans cette matière très spécifique. Ils fournissent des avis concernant cette réglementation et défendent les intérêts de leurs clients dans le cadre de procédures judiciaires, par exemple en cas d’accident du travail grave, qui concerne fréquemment une procédure correctionnelle dans laquelle la société et le CEO sont poursuivis pénalement. L’un des avocats de Bloom enseigne la réglementation en matière de bien-être au travail à l’université.