Alexander De Becker - Lawyer

Info

Career
Alexander is Master of Laws (2000) and obtained a PhD in Social Law and Administrative Law (2006) with a dissertation on labour and employment relations in the public sector.

He restarted his career as barrister in 2016 although he advised ‘Bloom’ (2015) since its foundation. Previously, he worked as counsel in other law firms.

Alexander also is professor of the facultys of law of the UGent and the UHasselt and he holds the Chair “The State as Employer” at the University of Leiden (the Netherlands). He teaches the courses The State as Employer (University of Leiden), Advanced Administrative Law, Law and State (Comparative public law) and Legal French (University of Hasselt). 
 
Expertise
Alexander is specialised in Social Law and Administrative Law. He treats law suits in all areas of public law and employment law. He has a profound specialisation in the areas of employment law and labour law in the public sector, collective negotiations in the public sector, municipal law and intermunicipal cooperation agreements.

Alexander is recognized as an international specialist in the field of labour and employment relations in the public sector. He has acted as academic visitor at numerous universities in and outside Europe. Those universities include the University of Copenhagen (Denmark), the University of Cassino and the European University Institute Florence (both in Italy), the University of Stockholm (Sweden), the University of Oxford and the University of Reading (both in the United Kingdom), the University of Wisconsin-Madison (United States). 
 
Publications and seminars
Alexander is the author of several publications in comparative public (employment and labour) law. He has written a book on “The legal foundations of the specific status of public servants”, and he has edited many other books including  amongst which the comparative book on “The Role of the Regions in EU governance” (co-edited with Carlo Panara) and the recent book (2015) on “The evolutions in public servants’ law in Belgium” (co-edited with Ria Janvier). He biannually writes a part of the main handbook on Belgian administrative law (by André Mast, Jean Dujardin, Marnix Van Damme and Johan Vande Lanotte). A handbook on Public Servants’ Law in Belgium is under preparation. 

In addition he published several articles in leading international and national legal journals on employment and labour law in the public sector. He also published a number of exhaustive articles on amongst others strike, collective bargaining, municipal autonomy, intermunicipal cooperation, administrative supervision, litigation before administrative courts and teleworking. 

Alexander is also a frequent lecturer at international and national colloquia. During the previous, he spoke at conferences in Italy (Turin), the Netherlands (Amsterdam), South-Africa (Cape Town), Spain (Barcelona and Madrid) and Switzerland (Neuchâtel). 
 
Languages
Dutch, French, English, Swedish, Danish, German and notions of Italian.

Bar
Brussels
Office Ghent
back to the overview

Alexander De Becker - Avocat

Info

Carrière

Alexander a obtenu son master en droit à la VUB (2000, GD). Il a soutenu sa thèse en droit de fonction publique et en droit social dans le secteur public au sein de la même université en 2006. Sa thèse doctorale concernait les fondements juridiques du statut du fonctionnaire.

Alexander a repris ses activités d’avocat en 2016 au sein du cabinet Bloom. Il travaillait cependant déjà depuis la fondation du cabinet comme consultant pour Bloom. Auparavant, il était avocat et/ou consultant dans d’autres cabinets.

Alexander est également professeur aux facultés de droit de l'Université de Gand et l’Université d’Hasselt. Depuis 2010, il occupe la chaire “L’Etat comme organisation de travail” au sein de l’Université de Leiden aux Pays-Bas. Il y enseigne “L’Etat comme organisation de travail” et l’étude approfondie du droit administratif, Law and State (droit public comparé) et français juridique au sein de l’Université d’Hasselt.


Expertise

Le droit administratif et le droit social constituent les deux branches spécialisées d’Alexander. Il traite des dossiers concernant tous les aspects de ces branches de droit. Son expertise spécifique couvre le droit social de fonction publique (les fonctionnaires et les contractuels dans le secteur public), les relations collectives dans le secteur public, le droit municipal et provincial et les intercommunales.

 

Il est reconnu au niveau international comme expert dans le domaine du droit social de la fonction publique. Alexander a visité des nombreuses universités internationales comme professeur invité et/ou comme chercheur invité. Ainsi, il travaillait à l’Université de Copenhague (au Danemark), l’Université de Cassino et l’Institut Universitaire Européen de Florence (toutes les deux situées en Italie), l’Université de Stockholm (en Suède), les Universités d’Oxford et de Reading (au Royaume Uni) et l’Université de Madison-Wisconsin (au Etats-Unis).


Publications et séminaires

Alexander a publié largement dans le domaine du droit social de la fonction publique. Il est l’auteur de la monographie De overheid en haar personeel: juridische grondslagen van de rechtspositie van de ambtenaar (L’état et son personnel: fondements juridiques du statut spécifique du fonctionnaire). Il est en outre le directeur de nombreux ouvrages dont le livre de droit comparé The Role of the Regions in EU governance (Le rôle des régions dans la gérance de l’UE) qu’il a dirigé avec Carlo Panara et le livre récent (en 2015) Le statut juridique du personnel du secteur public en mouvement avec Ria Janvier. Il écrit aussi une partie du livre de base Overzicht van het Belgisch administratief recht (Aperçu du droit administratif d’André Mast, Jean Dujardin, Marnix Van Damme et Johan Vande Lanotte).

Il a également écrit des nombreux articles dans des journaux et revues juridiques au niveau national ainsi qu’au niveau international. Il a surtout publié concernant le droit social de fonction publique. Entre autres, il a publié sur le droit de grève pour les fonctionnaires et les contractuels dans le secteur public, les négociations collectives, l’autonomie municipale, les intercommunales, la supervision administrative, le contentieux administratif et le télétravail.

Alexander donne fréquemment des séminaires en Belgique et à l’étranger. L’année passée, il a donné des séminaires à Turin (Italie), Amsterdam (Pays-Bas), Barcelone et Madrid (Espagne), Neuchâtel (Suisse) et au Cap (Afrique du Sud).


Langues

Néerlandais, Français, Anglais, Allemand, Suédois, Danois et notion d’Italien. 


Barreau

Bruxelles
 

Bureau Gand
retour à l'aperçu